Skip to content

2021 Youth Leadership Graduation

26 Students Graduate from Eastern Shore Chamber’s Youth Leadership Program

Youth Leadership 2021 Graduating Class

DAPHNE, Ala. – Twenty-six local sophomores, juniors & seniors have graduated from the Eastern Shore Chamber’s Youth Leadership Program, an intensive seven-month program designed to develop and expand leadership skills by empowering students through seminars, workshops, hands-on activities, team building, community engagement and introductions to community leaders.
Students received their graduation certificates Monday, May 19, 2021 at Daphne United Methodist Church.
Throughout the program, students explore topics including law and government, business smarts, health and human services and the environment. Other activities include retreats and community service hours.
“2020’s adversities created a leadership lesson itself for our program and its students,” said Eastern Shore Chamber Director of Workforce Development Christina Hellmich. “Because the pandemic forced us to alter the program, students were given the opportunity to learn leadership skills in a crisis situation.” 
Students work as teams to develop small group projects that address key issues they identify in the community, which they presented during graduation.
“My favorite thing from this program is the opportunity I had to work with other leaders in my community to learn and practice the different ways that a person can successfully lead a group,” said graduate Ally Mavar.
Students in the program select one individual student who stands out by showcasing the qualities of a leader throughout the program. The 2021 winner of the Spirit of Youth Leadership Award goes to Spanish Fort High School Junior Ford Turnipseed.
The Eastern Shore Chamber of Commerce would like to congratulate the 2021 class for their achievements:
Frances Barnes
Caroline Beech
Avery Bramblett
Lyndsey Byrd
Nolan Crawford
Wilson Engeriser
Jacob Fontenot
Cameron Herzog
Ella Kate Hewes
Leighanne Higgins
Anna Hartsel Hope
Sarah Jones
Ally Mavar
McKenna McBee
Johanna Olvera
Belle Myrick
Abby Ott
LK Peacock
Kacey Porter
Madeline Shipman
Ellie Smith
Mary Everett Toombs
Noah Trull
Ford Turnipseed
Ben VanderHeyden
Edward Witherington

The Eastern Shore Chamber would like to thank the Chamber Foundation’s Workforce Sponsor, Daphne Utilities, Graduation Sponsor Riviera Utilities and Program Sponsors Bayside Academy, Baldwin County Board of Education and Hot Wheel’s Skate Center.
We also appreciate the committee members who make this program possible: Chairman Diane Anderson – Avizo, Taylor Strunk – Baldwin EMC, Samantha Coppels – Daphne Utilities, Mandy Bezeredi – Coastal Alabama Community College, Lisa Hastings – Bryant Bank, Loni Jarman – Member at Large, Terri Kinsey – Member at Large, and Steve Day – Daphne United Methodist Church.

Scroll To Top